Last year, the youth group that I was working with at the church that I did belong to performed a “human music video” to the song “There’s A Reason” by MercyMe. In the drama group, called “Paradigm Shift”, I played Jesus and was actually lifted up and nailed to an imaginary cross to emphasize that Jesus really is the reason for…well…everything. My wife bought this CD for my Christmas stocking this year. We exchanged out stockings last night. Driving to work this morning, this song came on and I had actually forgotten that it was on the CD. I fought back tears remembering the good times I had with the youth group and being reminded of what this season is about which we tend to forget. I have included on the right (not the left as I wrote last time) a link to MercyMe’s website. Here are the lyrics to the song “There’s A Reason.”

Now’s the time

Let the redeemed celebrate

If you know what I know

You can’t wipe the smile off your face

Oh people, stand up and praise

CHORUS

There’s a reason to dance

There’s a reason to sing

Of the sacred romance

With our Savior and King

We lift up our hands

We fall on our knees

To the Son of Man

The reason we are free

There’s a reason

All glory to

The King of Kings, Lord if Lords

Oh the value of Your worth

No worldly treasures can afford

And we praise You forevermore

REPEAT CHORUS

There’s a reason to stand

There’s a reason to shout, to shout Your name on high

So we take up our cross, there’s a reason to die

Because Jesus is alive

There’s a reason

REPEAT CHORUS

There’s a reason

You are the reason

The reason we are free

There’s also a tremendous song called “Word of God Speak” on the same album. Here are the lyrics for it.

I’m finding myself at a loss for words

And the funny thing is it’s okay

The last thing I need is to be heard

But to hear what You would say

CHORUS

Word of God speak

Would You pour down like rain

Washing my eyes to see

Your majesty

To be still and know

That You’re in this place

Please let me stay and rest

In Your holiness

Word of God speak

I’m finding myself in the midst of You

Beyond the music, beyond the noise

All that I need is to be with You

And in the quiet hear Your voice

REPEAT CHORUS 2x

I’m finding myself at a loss for words

And the funny thing is it’s okay

Leave a Reply

